The Children’s Book Award is owned and coordinated by the charity the Federation of Children’s Book Groups. Inaugurated in 1980, it is the only national award voted for solely by children from start to finish.

Here are some of our Top Ten authors for 2018 (copyright Ed Thompson)

And here are the Winners for 2018!!

And click here for exclusive interviews with them all.

Overall Winner and Winner of the Younger Readers Category

The Explorer, written by Katherine Rundell and illustrated by Hannah Horn, published by Bloomsbury.

Winner of the Younger Childrens Category

I Dare You written and illustrated by Reece Wykes and published by Andersen Press.

Winner of our Older Readers Category

I Have No Secrets written by Penny Joelson and published byEgmont (Electric Monkey).

Congratulations to them all!!

Great blogs, illustrations and secret tips from our Top Ten

Read all the fantastic blogs from our Top Ten authors, with thanks to all our blog tour hosts and our stunning Top Ten authors.

Click here for the final round-up. And now remember to vote for your favourite!

Older Readers

Now it’s the turn of our Older Reader books. And here is the round-up in case you missed them!

First this week is Optimists Die First by Susin Nielsen. Click here to read the blog hosted by MinervaReads.

And here is the next wonderful blog on The Book Activist on Penny Joelson’s I Have No Secrets. 

Our final Older Readers blog post is hosted by Luna’s Little Library on Ink by Alice Broadway.


Younger Readers

It is the week for fantastic blogs from our brilliant Younger Readers Top Ten and here is the round-up in case you missed them!

Click here to read about The Explorer by Katherine Rundell, beautifully illustrated by Hannah Horn. Thanks to librarygirland bookboy for hosting this blog.

Goldenbooksgirl has hosted The Island at the End of Everything. Read all about this book and remember to vote for your favourite!

And finally Booklovejo is hosting The Goldfish Boy by Lisa Thompson. Come back on Thursday 29th March for our Younger Readers blog tour round-up!

Younger Children

The Secret of Black Rock with Fiona Barker

Mrs. Mole I’m Home! with Library Mice

Edgar and the Sausage Inspector with Playingbythebook

I Dare You with Toppsta

Missed them? Subscribe to the Federation’s blog at http://www.fcbg.org.uk/blog to catch up with the round-up.

Want to read the next round of great blogs for the Younger Readers Category? Click here to catch up with the blog tour #FCBGCBA18.

Why join in with the Children’s Book Award?

Overall Winner 2017 An Eagle in the Snow: Michael Morpurgo and Michael Foreman (pictured)

It is highly regarded by parents, teachers, librarians, publishers and children’s authors and illustrators as it truly represents the children’s choice.

Thanks to the support of the publishers, over 1,000 new books are donated to be read and reviewed by our Testing Groups across the country every year, with over 150,000 total votes being cast in the process. At the end of each testing year, nearly 12,000 books are donated to hospitals, women’s refuges, nurseries and disadvantaged schools by our groups.

The 2018 Top Ten shortlist has been announced.

Here are our voters favourite books:

Vote for YOUR favourite NOW.

Headline Sponsor 2019

Want to get involved in voting for the children's choice?

To be the first to hear the Top Ten shortlist for 2018 and to be part of a Top Ten giveaway pre-register here:

Download a presentation on the Children’s Book Award and its outreach work.