Spotting the children’s classics of the future

The only children’s book award voted for entirely by children, the Children’s Book Award has a proud history of spotting children’s classics and future stars of the children’s book world.  It was the first UK national children’s book award to be won by Roald Dahl, J.K. Rowling, Jacqueline Wilson, Korky Paul, Jeremy Strong, Rick Riordan and Suzanne Collins (author of The Hunger Games).

Read here what our testers thought of all our Past Winners from 1981 to 2017. How many of the children’s choice have your children read?

And here is the list of our Past Winners or click here to download our Past Winners poster:

Year Winner (s) Title
2017 Michael Morpurgo and Michael Foreman An Eagle in the Snow
2016 Pamela Butchart and Thomas Flintham My Head Teacher is a Vampire Rat
2015 Oliver Jeffers and Drew Daywalt The Day the Crayons Quit
2014 Rick Yancey The 5th Wave
2013 Andrew Weale and Lee Wildish Spooky, Spooky House
2012 Patrick Ness A Monster Calls
2011 Michael Morpurgo Shadow
2010 Suzanne Collins Hunger Games
2009 Sophie McKenzie Blood Ties
2008 Derek Landy Skulduggery Pleasant
2007 Andy Stanton You’re a Bad Man, Mr. Gum!
2006 Rick Riordan Percy Jackson and the Lightning Thief
2005 Simon James Baby Brains
2004 Michael Morpurgo Private Peaceful
2003 Anthony Horowitz Skeleton Key
2002 Malorie Blackman Noughts and Crosses
2001 Kes Gray and Nick Sharratt Eat Your Peas
2000 Michael Morpurgo Kensuke’s Kingdom
1999 J.K. Rowling Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets
1998 J.K. Rowling Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone
1997 Jeremy Strong The Hundred-Mile-an-Hour Dog
1996 Jacqueline Wilson Double Act
1995 Dick King-Smith Harriet’s Hare
1994 Ian Strachan The Boy in the Bubble
1993 Jacqueline Wilson The Suitcase Kid
1992 Elizabeth Laird Kiss the Dust
1991 Mick Inkpen Threadbear
1990 Robert Swindells Room 13
1989 Roald Dahl Matilda
1988 Korky Paul and Valerie Thomas Winnie the Witch
1987 Allan and Janet Ahlberg The Jolly Postman
1986 Amanda Graham and Donna Gynell Arthur
1985 Robert Swindells Brother in the Land
1984 Terry Jones Eric the Viking
1983 Roald Dahl The BFG
1982 Leon Garfield Fair’s Fair
1981 Quentin Blake Mr. Magnolia